What Was Your First Crochet Project?

I get asked this question frequently.

The first crochet project I remember making is a scarf in some leftover yarn I found around the house. There wasn’t a label on this yarn, so I have no idea what brand it was. I just remember it was this minty green/turquoise color. I was taught how to do the basic stitches, which was really difficult at the time. I had a tough time trying to hold the yarn and crochet hook while trying to put the yarn through each stitch.

Once I became a little better at it, I was told that one of the easiest things to make was a scarf. I used the minty green/turquoise yarn and a red size F crochet hook to begin my scarf, which of course was all over the place. I couldn’t get the edges lined up as I kept crocheting too many stitches across. My tension was too tight, probably because of the small hook and with me trying to figure out how to hold everything. I kept tearing it apart until finally the edges started to line up properly. My tension became a little better and wasn’t as tight anymore. I also added tassels to each end.

Finally, I finished my first crocheted item! I felt so proud of myself for making my first scarf. It wasn’t perfect by any means, but I couldn’t wait to crochet more items. I wish I had a picture to show you, but it has since been donated to charity.

Now I’m going to ask you: What was the first item you crocheted? Let me know by leaving me a comment along with a picture (if you have it).

Be sure to check out and subscribe to my blog for all future projects, hauls, and much more. As always, thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “What Was Your First Crochet Project?

Leave a Reply

